This Month in Books 

One of my new years resolutions was to read more this year. I didn’t really set a goal of how many books to read, but I definitely wanted to do better than the 2 or 3 books I read last year. I have done pretty good in the month of January and I hope to keep it up for the rest of the year. Here are the books I read: 

Stephen King – Finder’s Keepers 

I started reading this one around November and it took me so long to finish it. I really enjoyed it but I had lost the discipline of picking up a book every day or night to read. Even though I was into the story and was intrigued to know more, it took me a few weeks to read it everyday and remember to pick it up. I read the last half of it in less than week afterwards. This is my favorite read this month. 

“Wake up, genius.” So begins King’s instantly riveting story about a vengeful reader. The genius is John Rothstein, an iconic author who created a famous character, Jimmy Gold, but who hasn’t published a book for decades. Morris Bellamy is livid, not just because Rothstein has stopped providing books, but because the nonconformist Jimmy Gold has sold out for a career in advertising. Morris kills Rothstein and empties his safe of cash, yes, but the real treasure is a trove of notebooks containing at least one more Gold novel.

Morris hides the money and the notebooks, and then he is locked away for another crime. Decades later, a boy named Pete Saubers finds the treasure, and now it is Pete and his family that Bill Hodges, Holly Gibney, and Jerome Robinson must rescue from the ever-more deranged and vengeful Morris when he’s released from prison after thirty-five years.

John Christopher – The Tripods, The White Mountains
My boyfriend gave to this one to me for Christmas. He remembered reading it as a kid and he thought it’d enjoy reading it. It’s targeted to younger readers, but I still enjoyed it. It took me a week to read it, it’s a small book. I’m not crazy about the Sci-fi genre but the story was interesting. I might buy the other two books, they’re only $9.99CAD 

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.

Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods—huge three-legged machines—that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.

Joy Fielding – She’s not there 

I have read a few books by Joy Fielding, and I was excited when my boyfriend got me two of her books for Christmas. I thought it was a murder mystery kind of book but it’s more of a family drama. I enjoyed the story, and felt myself getting watery eyes at some point. 

A lifetime ago, every year Caroline Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the unsolved kidnapping of her infant daughter, Samantha. Now, fifteen years after that horrific time, divorced and isolated, Caroline is forced to relive the kidnapping by reporters who call every year on the anniversary of Samantha’s disappearance. However, this year when the phone rings, Caroline hears the sweet voice of a girl claiming to be her long-lost daughter.
     Plunged  back into the world of heartbreak, suspicion and questions that led the case to run cold so many years ago, Caroline doesn’t know what or who to believe. But when she starts to figure it out, she finds the answers dangerously close to home.

I really enjoyed going back to reading, I have already started another one that I will include for February. I dont know what books to go for after that so please leave any recommendations in the comments below, I’d appreciate it! Thank you for reading, have a great week! 

This entry was posted in Books, review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *